April 27, 2021
Image: Speed Shots Photography

MWM Racing’s championship winning Volkswagen Golf R and Mini Cooper S are set for a full-time MRF Tyres Australian Production Cars (APC) return in 2021, starting with this weekend’s season opener at Sydney Motorsport Park (May 1-2).

James Keene will pilot the 2018 B1 Class Championship winning Golf while Richard Luff will steer the 2018 D Class Championship winning Mini.

The 2021 campaign will signal a return to a more comprehensive racing program for the team after 2019 and 2020 seasons which while ‘patchy,’ still contained some impressive results.

“After winning the championship in 2018 we also ran both cars with the MRF Tyres APC at The Bend Motorsport Park in 2019 and walked away with a class round win in the Mini,” MWM Racing Team Principal, Trevor Keene, explained.

“We also entered the Mini at the first and only APC round of 2020 at Sydney before COVID-19 hit, with Richard and James putting in a great drive in the varying conditions to not only claim the class win at that event, but also an amazing fourth outright for the weekend!

“The last two years have been a bit patchy for us for sure, but I guess it was for everyone in 2020, and we are looking forward to getting back into the MRF Tyres APC for 2021.

“We don’t have any particular goals in mind other than to do as well as we can of course, and in Sydney we will be looking to set up a good base line for the rest of the year.”

Image: Speed Shots Photography

“Being the first round, to get a solid result we can build on over the rest of the season would be great. It is going to be an interesting event, especially as many of our races are quite late in the day! Personally I don’t want it to rain, but after the performance of the Mini in the wet at Sydney Motorsport Park in 2020, James disagrees!” he laughed.

MWM Racing – which is supported by sponsors Driver Dynamics, Whiteline, Midwest Multimedia, German Performance Garage, APR Australia, Buttriss Smash and Mechanical Repairs and S-Sport Racing – also has plans in the works for a third car to enter the fray by the end of the year.

“We haven’t made any significant changes to the Golf or the Mini in preparation for 2021, but what we have been doing is working on another Mini which we hope to bring into the MRF Tyres APC later in the year,” James Keene explained.

“That car is being built at the moment. The current Mini has been running for quite some time now, so we are keen to update to a later model and hope to run all three cars at the finale.”

For 2021, the MRF Tyres APC is employing new round formats made up of 4 x 30-minute races across five rounds – the first four of which will be held as part of the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships ahead of the finale at the Bathurst International.

“I think the new race format is going to be exciting, it is going to bring a different element to the mix,” James said.

“It will be a bit of a return to the way production cars was back in the early 2000s, when it was pretty much run over races that were about a half an hour in length, so it is not something that will be completely foreign to us,” Trevor added.

“The announcement of Bathurst as the finale is something we are very happy about also, it sits nicely with the number of rounds we wanted to run this year and will be a great end to the season.”

Competitors interested in securing spots at 2021 MRF Tyres APC events across the year should contact Troy Williams on

The 2021 MRF Tyres APC season will be held over five rounds. Rounds one through four will be run as part of the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships at Sydney Motorsport Park (May 1-2), Morgan Park Raceway (June 25-27), Sandown Raceway (September 10-12) and Tailem Bend Motorsport Park (October 15-17). The fifth and final round for the 2021 MRF Tyres APC Season will be held as part of the Bathurst International. All five rounds will consist of 4 x 30-minute races.

For more on the MRF Tyres APC, please visit or or contact Ontic Sports General Manager Troy Williams on 0483 035 466 or


• Round 1: Sydney Motorsport Park – May 1-2

• Round 2: Morgan Park Raceway – June 25-27

• Round 3: Sandown Raceway – September 10-12

• Round 4: Tailem Bend Motorsport Park – October 15-17

• Round 5: Bathurst International – November 26-28